Welcome to my new blog! 2017 is a year of change for us, and I want to share it with you.

First of all, let me introduce myself and tell you a little about me. I am an independent author and a fibre artist. I am also a part-time library assistant at the local library. We live in rural Alberta, a few miles out of Mannville. I have had an Etsy Shop since September 2014, and have patterns I have designed, items I have made, and services I provide listed. It has been a learning curve for me, but I am happy to say I do have sales every month.

I also co-own a very small herd of alpacas with my daughter. We have three females and one male at present, with hopes our herd will increase slightly in late spring or early summer. I love the alpacas, and am anxious to move onto the same property as they are. The downfall to renting is livestock is not always welcome. Fortunately we were able to house the alpacas a few miles away at my father-in-law’s, which means a drive to do chores at least once a day.

If all goes according to plan, we will be moving there this summer. I am quite excited about it, because then I will be able to spend more time with the alpacas. I’m looking forward to working with them and getting them used to the halters again. Plus, shearing and the processing of the fibre will be much easier.

I am also looking forward to having a garden again, which I have missed. There’s nothing quite like fresh fruit and vegetables. I will be sharing hints and tips (plus pictures) about gardening, and the methods I like to use.

As the name of this blog, my Etsy Shop, my Facebook page and my Instagram account say, it’s Not Just Alpaca. I hope you’ll follow me on our journey to making a piece of land ours, and building a home the way we want. And, even though I have varied interests, they basically all trace back to one common denominator: living the country lifestyle. I was raised on a farm, and prefer it to city or town living any day.

For those of you interested in learning more about the books I write, I can be found on Amazon and Kobo. I look forward to sharing my hobbies with you. I’ll see you again soon.

Warmest wishes for you and yours,

Diane