I am relatively new to knitting, even though I learned how when I was six. My maternal grandmother taught me how to knit at six and crochet at eight. I found crochet to be much easier and faster, so the knitting was put on the back burner for about fourty years. In my years of crocheting, I have made countless afghans, dishcloths (aka Beanie Baby blankets), pot holders, hats, mitts, scarves, wrist warmers, scrubbies and so forth. I have also designed several crochet patterns (many can be found in my Etsy Shop).

About a year or two ago I decided to try it (knitting) again, so invested in some knitting looms. I was content with them until I wanted a more portable project. Looms tend to take up a lot of space in a suitcase. They are great for hats and scarves, but anything bigger or smaller, and I struggled.

I have wanted to knit socks for some time now, so started with a pair of yoga socks. If you’re new to knitting socks, I recommend you start with them. There is no heel or toe to worry about, and you can get a feel for working with DPNs or circular needles. Personally, I prefer to knit in the round with two circular needles, because there is less chance of the stitches slipping off. It took me awhile to figure it out, but I am getting faster at it.

With my first pair of yoga socks, I found the heel opening to curl. With the second pair, I incorporated a row of purl stitches so the piece would lie a little more flat. There is still some curl to it, but not near as much as the first pair. I also realized 72 stitches was too many for my foot size, so decreased to 64 for the second pair. I have just started a third pair (which may become an actual pair of socks) and have decreased the initial stitches once again, this time to 56.

The first pair was made from a wool/nylon blend, while the second pair (shown on my foot) was made from a yarn with mostly cotton. I do prefer the wool blend as it is softer, so pair number three is a wool blend. Once I get better at making socks, I will use alpaca yarn. Perhaps by then I will have some spun fine enough. If not, I will order some from another Etsian; most likely A to Z Alpacas near Vauxhall Alberta.

The photo also includes a book I borrowed from the library, but one I will be buying my own copy of. It is filled with clear instructions and step-by-step photos. I can usually learn how to do something just by reading, but when it comes to knitting I found I definitely need a visual as well.

I will include a picture of the finished project at a later date. I’m hoping to get some knitting time in while we are away this weekend. It will have to wait until we get to our destination though, because knitting needles aren’t allowed on carry-on luggage on a plane.

Speaking of planes, this will be my first-ever plane ride, so stay tuned for my thoughts on flying. Yes, I am almost 49 and have never flown before. Eeek!

My question today is, have you ever knit socks? If so, are you a toe-up person, or top-down?