It has been a busy ten days, and I’m glad to be home. As I said in my last post, we attended the 2017 Ford World Men’s Curling Championship. I thought I would have more time to post, but it just didn’t happen. I did add photos on Instagram, which also posts to my Not Just Alpaca Facebook Page, but that was the extent of my social media. 

I opted to leave my iPad at our home-away-from-home, and my phone doesn’t have the WordPress App, so blogging was pretty much out of the question. The first game started at 9 AM, and the last one of the day generally didn’t end until after 10 PM. By the time we took the LRT and drove from the Park ‘n Ride, it was usually close to midnight by the time we got in. A quick email and Facebook check, and I was ready for bed. I thought holidays were supposed to be relaxing.

Even with being out and about during the day, we didn’t spend the entire day in the Coliseum. We ventured up 118th Avenue and found some good places to eat, and even tried some new foods. I even managed to find a little book store that we perused for a bit. I could have spent all afternoon in it, but we had a game to watch. I was going to buy a book on yoga, but it was heavy and I didn’t want to have to carry it around all afternoon and evening. I think the next time I’m in Edmonton I will go back to that bookstore and spend more time (and some money).

We had some time on Friday as there was only one game in the evening, so we slept in, went to Red Lobster for lunch, then spent some time perusing some stores. I found a store called Jyst, which is a bed, bath and more store. I could have spent some money in that store, as it had some neat picture frames, a lot of garden accessories, bedding and some things that would be perfect for our holiday trailer. So many pretty things, but not enough money to buy them. Which probably isn’t a bad thing, now that I think about it.

The best store I visited on Friday was Chapters. I could have spent hours in there, and had I not been reminded it was time to catch the LRT, I probably would have. I walked out of there with a new journal in hand, which is just what I needed. I filled up my other one weeks ago, so haven’t written much lately. It will be good to get back into my evening journaling again.

It was nice to get away, but it’s nice to be home too. Now to get back into the routine of work, meals and the other everyday chores. Plus, now that it’s warming up outside I have yardwork to do. And, alpaca pens to clean.

I apologize for straying a bit off topic, because my intention was to talk more about the curling event. There were some very close games, but also some that were over in six ends. The final game was definitely a nail-biter, as it was tied for a few ends. By the end of it all, Canada walked away with a Gold, Sweden with Silver and Switzerland with Bronze. A fantastic finish for Team Canada!

The photo is of my new journal. I know it says Notebook on it, but it will serve the same purpose. Curling pictures will be added in an upcoming post, as I have to get them from my phone to my iPad.