This post is a bit of a vent, and stems from a senseless tragedy that affected so many lives two days ago, including ours.

Late Wednesday evening I found out about an accident involving two vehicles in a head on collision. As it was near the town I used to live in, I knew the chance of at least one of the four being killed would be someone I knew. By just after midnight my fears had been confirmed. One victim had been a part of our family for several years.

As with all accidents, possible scenarios are examined and blame is placed on several factors. As it turns out, even though the weather was miserable it did not play a part in the collision. The driver of one truck made a poor judgement call, and he paid for it with his life. The saddest part was, he also caused the deaths of three more innocent victims (one being a family friend ) and severe injuries to a fourth.

I’m not mentioning names out of respect for the families, but I do want to say this: there are wives without husbands, children without fathers, parents without sons and siblings without brothers. A senseless tragedy that could have been avoided had the driver just waited for a clearer view. My heart goes out to all affected.

The victims ranged in age from 28 to 64, and holes are left in the hearts of so many. After seeing the news footage of the aftermath, it’s surprising anyone survived. But, as I said, I do not know the extent of the survivor’s injuries.

There are no photos this time, because none suit the post. It’s sad and frustrating, plus so many other emotions rolled into one. So, before you pull out to pass a vehicle, please take the time to guarantee it is one hundred and ten percent safe to do so. Lives will be spared, and other families will not have to endure the pain and loss so many are having to deal with now.

I’m not one to speak ill of the deceased, but this situation angers me because it could have been avoided. Stay safe out there, and pay extra attention to what’s going on around you when you get behind the wheel. Nothing is that important that risks need to be taken. Being a few minutes late is better than not getting there at all.

